After being released in North America on August 8th, Dead Rising has already sold 500,000 copies in two weeks! Who knew slicing zombies in half would be so much fun. While Bully gets put under the microscope for how “violent” it is, Dead Rising soars to the top without parents or politicians even noticing it. Why is that you ask? I don’t know, maybe because from here on out everything Rockstar does will be under the microscope. But that’s a whole different story to get into and I’m here to talk about Dead Rising.

I’ve been playing this game off and on since it was released and finally beat it last night; so I thought. There are five different endings to the game, you can use almost any item as a weapon, and there are 50 achievements giving players the ability to play the game how they want to play it. People have whined and moaned about the decision to have only one save slot, but I personally think that this adds to the sense of urgency and chaos in the game. If you die, you can either choose to start over with your new abilities or continue where you last saved. There were plenty of times I contemplated starting over but I couldn’t bring myself to do it.

All in all, this game is awesome and I recommend that anyone with a Xbox 360 to go pick up a copy.

